Things to Do

Little Norlington Barn

What To Do and See

There are many interesting things to do and see close to Little Norlington Barn. If you love walking, we are very close to the South Downs National Park and there are walks straight from our barn. Below is a list of places to visit and things to do nearby. We recommend you check websites for up-to-date information regarding opening or booking to visit.

National Trust Properties

Sheffield Park and Garden (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sheffield-park-and-garden)

Great spring and autumn colours. 12 miles.


Nymans (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/nymans)

One of England's greatest gardens. 22 miles


Monk’s House (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/monks-house)

Virginia Woolf’s home. 8 miles.


Wakehurst Place (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wakehurst)

Kew’s wild botanic garden in Sussex. 19 miles.


Bodiam Castle (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/bodiam-castle)

Fourteenth-century moated castle showing a glimpse of medieval splendour. 25 miles.


Petworth House and Park (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/petworth-house-and-park)

Capability Brown gardens and a house inspired by the Baroque palaces of Europe displaying the finest art collection in the care of the National Trust. 41 miles


Bateman’s (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/batemans)

Rudyard Kipling’s house and garden. 17 miles.


Sissinghurst Castle Garden (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sissinghurst-castle-garden)

Vita Sackville-West's stunning garden. 30 miles.

Houses and Gardens

Charleston Farmhouse (https://www.charleston.org.uk)

Home of the Bloomsbury Group. 7 miles.


Michelham Priory (https://sussexpast.co.uk/properties-to-discover/michelham-priory)

Tudor mansion, beautiful gardens and England’s longest medieval water-filled moat. 9 miles.


Pashley Manor Gardens (https://www.pashleymanorgardens.com)

Award-winning gardens. 22 miles.


Great Dixter (https://www.greatdixter.co.uk)

Christopher Lloyd's renowned garden. 31 miles.


Borde Hill Garden (https://www.bordehill.co.uk)

Edwardian garden renowned for its rare shrubs and champion trees. 17 miles.


Bedgebury Pinetum (https://bedgeburypinetum.org.uk)

Home to a world-leading collection of conifers, providing a beautiful setting for walks and picnics. 24 miles.


Sussex Prairie Garden (https://www.sussexprairies.co.uk)

Britain’s largest ‘prairie’ or ‘naturalistic’ garden, it is one of a handful of large new gardens designed in the 20th and 21st century. 21 miles.


High Beeches (https://www.highbeeches.com)

Woodland and water garden that is a hidden gem in the High Weald of West Sussex. 29 miles.


Castles

Hever Castle (https://www.hevercastle.co.uk)

Award-winning gardens at this romantic double-moated 13th century castle which was once the childhood home of Anne Boleyn. 25 miles.


Arundel Castle (https://www.arundelcastle.org)

Restored medieval castle. 33 miles.


Herstmonceux Castle (https://www.herstmonceux-castle.com)

One of the finest brick-built castles in Britain. 14 miles.


1066 Battle Of Hastings, Abbey And Battlefield (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/1066-battle-of-hastings-abbey-and-battlefield/)

Site of the battle of Hastings. 22 miles


Railways

Bluebell Railway (www.bluebell-railway.co.uk)

A must for steam-train enthusiasts. 12 miles.

Opera

Glyndebourne (https://www.glyndebourne.com)

On our doorstep and is a must for opera lovers with its summer festival. 2 miles.

Horse Racing

Plumpton Racecourse (https://www.plumptonracecourse.co.uk)

Leading National Hunt racecourse. Watch horses race set against the stunning backdrop of the South Downs. 12 miles.

Vineyards

Sussex is now home to some of England’s finest wines. The following are among those open to the public, either for tastings and tours or special events.


Bluebell Vineyard (https://www.bluebellvineyard.org) (16 miles)


Rathfinny (www.rathfinnyestate.com), also does picnics and has a seafood takeaway kitchen. (13 miles)


Bolney (https://bolneywineestate.com) (21 miles)


Ridgeview (https://www.ridgeview.co.uk) (13 miles)


Nyetimber (https://nyetimber.com/nyetimber/sparkling-wine) (34 miles)

Walking and Cycling

The Cuckmere Valley (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/cuckmere-valley)

Beautiful walking down to the sea at Seven Sisters.

 

The South Downs Way (https://www.southdowns.gov.uk/great-days-out/)

Great walking with views in the South Downs National Park

 

Ashdown Forest (https://www.ashdownforest.org)

Originally a deer-hunting forest in Norman times, Ashdown Forest is a great place for walking and offers spectacular views over the Sussex countryside. It’s also known as the ‘home’ of Winnie-the-Pooh.

 

Friston Forest (https://www.forestryengland.uk/friston-forest)

 

The Cuckoo Trail (https://www.eastsussex.gov.uk/leisureandtourism/discover-east-sussex/countryside-sites/cuckootrail/)

Towns

Lewes

Medieval county town with castle, Anne of Cleves House, independent cafes and antique shops. 4 miles.

 

Brighton

Visit the Royal Pavilion (https://brightonmuseums.org.uk/royalpavilion/), wander through the Lanes, stroll along the beach or see this coastal resort from the i360 (https://britishairwaysi360.com/). 13 miles.

 

Royal Tunbridge Wells

Shopping opportunities, including at the famous white colonnaded walkway The Pantiles. 23 miles.

 

Eastbourne

Victorian seaside town immediately east of Beachy Head, the highest chalk sea cliff in Britain. Home to the Towner Art Gallery (https://www.townereastbourne.org.uk/) and the annual tennis tournament at Devonshire Park. 19 miles.

Terms and Conditions

Copyright © All Rights Reserved

TO BOOK or CHECK AVAILABILITY

Email stay@littlenorlingtonbarn.co.uk

or call Sandra on 01273 813321 or 07930 983 389